Connect with us

Latest News

APC Presidential Primaries:Tinubu Wins Ruling Party Ticket By A Landslide Margin



APC Presidential Primaries: Tinubu Wins Ruling Party Ticket By A Landslide Margin


70-year old former governor of Lagos State, Bola Ahmed Tinubu has won the presidential ticket of the All Progressive Congress (APC) party having polled the highest votes during the primary election held at the Eagle Square, Abuja.


Tinubu Wins Ruling Party Ticket By A Landslide Margin

Aiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu


Former Lagos Governor Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential ticket. At the party’s primary in Eagle Square, Abuja, he received 1,271 votes, defeating other candidates.

MUST READ:  Bishop David Oyedepo:Nigerians Have Short Memory,Buhari Was A Mistake


He defeated Rotimi Chibuike Amaechi, who received 316 votes, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, who received 235 votes, Senate President Ahmed Lawan with 152 votes; Kogi Governor Yahaya Bello recorded 47 votes while his Ebonyi counterpart, Dave Umahi had 38 votes with Cross River Governor Professor Ben Ayade polled 37 votes.

MUST READ:  23 remaining Abuja-Kaduna train attack victims regain freedom


Senator Ahmed Sani Rufai got four (4) votes, while former Ministers of Science, Technology, and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu and Chukwuemeja Nwaujiba received one vote each.


Seven of the aspirants stepped down for former Lagos Governor during their addresses to delegates, indicating his victory even before the primary began.

Senator Godswill Akpabio, former Minister of Niger Delta Development, led the pack of seven aspirants who stepped down to make way for Asiwaju.

MUST READ:  Actor John Stahl of 'Game of Thrones' movie passes away at 68


Others included Ekiti Governor Kayode Fayemi, Jigawa Governor Abubakar Badaru, former Ogun Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, former House Speaker Dimeji Bankole, and Senator Ajayi Boroffice.


Senator Ken Nnamani, the former Senate President, had withdrawn from the race prior to the convention.


When the APC Election Management Committee announced Tinubu as the winner of the hotly contested primary, Eagle Square erupted.