Connect with us


Liverpool thrash Man Utd 7-0 in a pulsating game at Anfield



Liverpool thrash Man Utd 7-0 in a pulsating game at Anfield


Liverpool thrash Man Utd 7-0 in a pulsating game at Anfield


In-depth match report as Cody Gakpo, Darwin Nunez and Mohamed Salah bags brace each before Roberto Firmino adds a seventh as Liverpool demolishes Manchester United at Anfield with one of the most astonishing drubbings in Premier League history.


Liverpool thrashed Manchester United 7-0 at Anfield in a pulsating Premier League drubbing that will live long in the hearts of all associated with the Utd.


In an extraordinary premier league match at Anfield, Liverpool attacking trio of Cody Gakpo, Mo Salah, and Darwin Nunez scored two goals each, and then Roberto Firmino completed the rout adding the seventh as Utd capitulated amid scenes of wild jubilation among the home support.

MUST READ:  Persistent Attacks on our offices may jeopardize 2023 elections - INEC Chairman




Man Utd had come into this game full of confidence after a run of 11 games unbeaten and fresh from ending their six-year trophy drought but were completely overwhelmed, conceding six second-half goals amid a raucous atmosphere on a never-to-be-forgotten night for Liverpool.


Although Bruno Fernandes and Marcus Rashford missed decent opportunities in the first half, United did have opportunities. However, two goals in short succession early in the second half resulted in a thrashing as United gave up. Liverpool is on the rise, with renewed expectations of finishing in the top four.

MUST READ:  Alex Lacazette To Leave Arsenal At Expiration Of His Current Contract



They leapfrog Newcastle and currently sit in fifth place, three points behind Tottenham with one game in hand. United’s futile attempts to elbow their way into the Premier League title race were dashed by this shocking loss, which extends their seven-year winless streak at Anfield.


Team News


Liverpool boss, Jurgen Klopp made three changes to his team that beat Wolves with Andy Robertson, Jordan Henderson and Cody Gakpo coming in. The three to drop to the bench were Kostas Tsimikas, Stefan Bajcetic and Diogo Jota.

MUST READ:  Just In:Court Sentence Hanifa Killer To Death By Hanging

There were no surprises in Erik ten Hag’s Manchester United selection as he named the same starting line-up that won the Carabao Cup final against Newcastle.


Egyptian international Mo Salah makes history


  • Mohamed Salah became the first Liverpool player to score in six consecutive appearances in all competitions against Manchester United.


  • Salah scored his 128th and 129th goals in the Premier League for Liverpool, overtaking Robbie Fowler as the club’s leading goalscorer in the competition’s history.